Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

cleaning question

Old 10-27-2006, 05:13 PM
Typical Buck

Default cleaning question

It's my first year of BP and I bought a used LK98 Knight 50 cal. I shot it and zeroed in the scope last week using APP powder for the first time. After about 10 shots or so it started some blow back. Not bad but is this normal. I wasn't swabing between shots, just shooting it. I didn't have time, cause of work, to clean the gun so now, do I shoot it one more time to clear out some fouling and then clean it or what? I know I should have cleaned it asap, but couldn't then and forgot about it a few days later. I'm not used to BP yet so I'm kinda dumb here. LOL. It has the red 209 jackets so I don't know how the blow back got by. Any help would be appreciated.
BBO
Old 10-27-2006, 05:48 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: cleaning question

I personally have never heard of the Knight LK-98. Of course that does not mean it does not exhist. I have a Knight LK-93 II which is the older model. I will guess that your rifle is like a Wolverine LK-93 that uses the red 209 primer holder.

What you need to do is break that rifle down and clean it. Take the breech plug out, and clean it free of fowling. Be sure and clean the barrel ASAP. Although APP is a forgiving powder, all of these powders will rust your rifle sooner or later. So clean them ASAP after shooting.