Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

curious

Old 06-13-2006, 06:34 AM

Default curious

I have a question for you all. I have been shooting a CVA inline 50 caliber rifle for 3 or 4 years now. Its been a good rifle with the exception of the sights. I know I can get better sights, just haven't done it yet. I use it for 2 weeks of the year deer hunting in the early season. The gun is a bolt action and seemslike its a pain to clean. So I was wondering how much easier the Omega or the guns that break-open like a Thompson Center Encore.

I shoot 777 powder thats easy to clean up with just water. A friend has the same gun, and shoots a different powder that doesn't clean up with water. I can get mine clean in about half the time it takes him. I guess I am just get'n lazy in my old age. lol

Mark
Old 06-13-2006, 06:52 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: curious

I have a few muzzle loaders and one of them is the Omega. It really is a breeze to clean there are really only 3 main pices to this gun. The breech plug. stock and forarm assembly (held on by 2 screws)and the barrel/trigger assembly. I really like this gun and find it to be very accurate. Mike
Old 06-13-2006, 09:50 AM
Dominant Buck

ORIGINAL: chiefks

I have a question for you all. I have been shooting a CVA inline 50 caliber rifle for 3 or 4 years now. Its been a good rifle with the exception of the sights. I know I can get better sights, just haven't done it yet. I use it for 2 weeks of the year deer hunting in the early season. The gun is a bolt action and seemslike its a pain to clean. So I was wondering how much easier the Omega or the guns that break-open like a Thompson Center Encore.