Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

First range session with T/C Omega

Old 03-14-2006, 12:43 PM

Default First range session with T/C Omega

I am new to muzzleloading. I just bought a .50 cal T/C Omega Z5 after doing a lot of research. In addition to the all-around good reports, including from people on this board, one of the reasons was the good reviews on lack of blowback on a mounted scope (I need a scope due to failing eyesight). It certainly lived up to expectations on that score. No residue on the scope at all. I started spit swabbing between every shot, but after awhile I decided to swab between every 3 shots and didn't notice any difference.

I used APP fffg powder, which I found to be pretty clean (which is why I used it) and 250gr T/C Shockwave saboted bullets. I found these bullets relatively easy to load, butat first I was not impressed with their accuracy. I was using 120gr of powder, and I couldn't get 3 shots in a 4 inch circle. Then I dropped down to 110gr of powder and my next 3 were within an inch. I was astounded that this difference in powder made such a difference. I don't know what the velocity differencewas, but I am guessing that for a 100-150 yard shot it won't be significant.

I also have some 300gr Hornady hollow points and some Dead Center 250 gr bullets that I will try out next time.I am wondering how much can I expect to have to fiddle with the charge for these different bullets, especially bullets of the same weight. Idon't mindthe fiddling, but I would prefer to spendmore timepracticing. Any suggestions?

All in all I liked the gun a lot.
Old 03-14-2006, 01:27 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: First range session with T/C Omega

great shooting with your new rifle...