Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Unloading a muzzleloader?

Old 09-30-2002, 12:16 PM

Default Unloading a muzzleloader?

This is my first year muzzleloading and I was wondering if most of you fire gun after your day of hunting or it their is a tool that can help unload the slug and powder? I have also heard of guys not loading their guns until they see a deer, but that seems stupid to me, since half of the time deer sneak up on you anyway. What are your opinions on unloading and loading. Only a couple of weeks until opener hear in Iowa I can't wait.

Thanks for any help
Jason
Old 09-30-2002, 12:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Unloading a muzzleloader?

Are you shooting a sidelock or inline? If you have an inline, all you need to do to unload w/o firing is disassemble the gun, remove the breach plug, and ram the bullet out that way. If you have a sidelock, you have a couple of options. If you are using a lead bullet, or a jacketed bullet with a large hollow/soft point, you can use a screw-type bullet puller. You thread it to your ramrod, then tap it into the nose of the bullet and pull it out. If shooting patched roundballs, there is a ramrod attachment that has two little tines that grap the patch to pull the ball out. The easiest way is to get one of those little CO2 cartridge powered unloading devices (don't remember exactly what they are called), that is placed on the nipple and blows the charge out.

BTW, what part out Iowa are you from? I'm hunting early muzzleloader in Johnson County this year.

Mike

Gun control means putting the second bullet through the same hole as the first- Ted Nugent
NRA Member
Old 09-30-2002, 12:52 PM
Giant Nontypical