Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

General Muzzloader Questions - Newbie

Old 07-25-2005, 08:56 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default General Muzzloader Questions - Newbie

Hi Guys,

I am new to muzzleloading and I have a bunch of questions. I have a knight master hunter II with the thumbhole stock and stainless barrel. It uses the orange primer disk. Here goes.

Every how many shots do I need to clean my muzzle loader if I am using the 777 pellets that claim to be ultra clean?

Every time I clean it do I need to grease the breech bold?

How much grease?

How do I clean the little hole in the breech plug?

How much effect does having a dirty barrel have on your shot with a muzzle loader?

I am shooting bullets with a plastic tip. I notice that when I force them down the barrel that I have to tug up a bit to get the rod out. Is this causing decreased performance or does it not matter? (ie I believe I am crushing that plastic tip on the way down the barrel?

After so many shots I find that it is much harder to push the bullet and sabot down the barrel. Is this because the barrel is dirty or because the barrel is hot?

Could someone please discribe the best way to start a bullet down the barrel? I have a hunting T-Handle that I am using.

What is typical accuracy that I should be getting out of my muzzle loader using a premium hunting bullet at 225 grains?

Any additional info would be great.

Thanks
Tom
Old 07-25-2005, 10:09 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: General Muzzloader Questions - Newbie

I have a bunch of questions. I have a knight master hunter II with the thumbhole stock and stainless barrel.
An excellent rifle. You're a luck person to have such a fine rifle.

Every how many shots do I need to clean my muzzle loader if I am using the 777 pellets that claim to be ultra clean?