Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Tent question

Old 04-24-2005, 01:10 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Tent question

Well, I figured this would be the best place to ask a question about wall tents, as I don't know of any other place to put it that would get a good response, so here goes.

I am sure EKM will have a wealth of knowledge here to

I am no expert, but don't exactly call myself a beginner when it comes to camping, both large camps and small, from years in the boyscouts, and the camp my dad and I have put together so far, but opinions will definately be welcome.

This is more of a "review" type question than anything.

I am in the market for another tent. One to serve as a base camp for the many times that I go out exploring by myself, but not one that will be carried on my back. Weight is not of a huge concern, but I want something that can easily put up by one person, and does not take forever to do so. My dad and I have a 12X14 wall tent right now that is GREAT for extended stays in the woods. (we had it up for close to three weeks a couple years ago). I am looking to find something that will allow me mobility in a vehicle base camp near true wilderness areas, that I will be able to break down quickly, as I plan to make many two and three day trips for scouting, etc. I am getting tired of these flimsy nylon pieces of %^&*&^&^%$#$%@$^%&^%& that just don't hold together. To be quite honest, I could very easily sleep under the stars, but it is nice to have some sense of protection while camping. I do most of my hunting in the early season (Sept and early Oct), and we again, have my dads tent for the really cold long stays.