Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Finally did the right thing.

Old 12-13-2004, 07:08 PM
Typical Buck

Default Finally did the right thing.

After better than 25 years of fogged bicno's, out of focus--massive headaches---just pieces of pure crap. I took the plunge & got a pair of Leica's 7x42. What a difference------should have done this 20 years ago. Definetly will use them this elk season & if the stars are aligned---A Colorado bighorn.
Old 12-15-2004, 09:38 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Finally did the right thing.

I never have looked through a pair of those. I am about due for a new pair though. I have been using some cheap tasco ones for many years. My eyes are not as good as they once were and this year I had a little trouble seeing well with my old ones.
Old 12-15-2004, 11:34 AM
Typical Buck

I'll admit I never have looked through expensive glass but the cheaper ones have never bothered me. I have 20-15 vision and I don't know if that has anything to do with or not. But I can buy a 30 dollar pair of glass and it seems as clear as day to me. No headaches, no straining, no problems as long as I get the focus on both eyes matched up.
Old 12-15-2004, 08:28 PM

Good glass is kind of like good taxidermy work. It's hard to know a bad one until you see a really good one. Then you become an optics and taxidermy snob like me and your wife yells at you a lot because you spend too much money!!
Old 12-15-2004, 11:05 PM
Nontypical Buck