Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Anyone have any black bear tips?

Old 10-03-2003, 04:46 AM

Default Anyone have any black bear tips?

I am new to hunting black bear in PA I went last year with no luck.. I do not know the first thing about it really... The area I hunt holds them I have seen bear there before but where do they go.. what do they prefer to eat.. The area I hunt is swampy bordered by hardwoods ... lots of acorns.. lots of mountian laral (spelling error for sure) this place is very thick gotta crawl threw most of it.. any suggestions

Thanks
Mike
Old 10-03-2003, 07:56 AM

Default RE: Anyone have any black bear tips?

Hi,
With acorns bears will be eating them. Bears are omnivores and eat almost anything. If there are blackberries or some other berry in the area, they will be concentrating there for the most part. Bears have a very wide range, and in the northeast in most places they have a 28-30 day circle of territory they cover that can be 100 miles or more. That means if you see a bear, you won' t see the same bear again for almost a month. There are exeptions:

When there' s a large concentration of food in one spot.

When they are denning up, or are in their dens for the winter.

They don' t eat laural.

If the cover' s that thick, find a food source and stay put. If you make noise you' ll just push them out ahead of you and you' ll never see them. With bears you just have to be in the right place at the right time. Hope that helps.

Good Luck this season!
Mark
http://www.buckhuntersecrets.com
Old 10-03-2003, 08:17 AM