Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Bear Baiting Question

Old 05-28-2012, 07:43 AM
Spike

Default Bear Baiting Question

So this is my first year hunting bears. I have one bait station. I am hunting in Eastern Idaho. Here is my dilemma, we set our bait and then had 1 grizzly and 1 or 2 black bears hit the bait 4 days later. The grizzly came in first at 2am and was there for about 20 minutes. He has not be back since. The black bear hit it for 3 days almost every morning and evening. The bears have not been back for about 2 weeks. I have not had any bears! We did go buy some tree stands and set them up 2 days after the last bear came in. Since then we have brought more bait up and had nothing come in.

We have a 55 gallon barrel chained to a tree and its about half full of barley rolled in molasses. Then I put some Boarmaster's Raspberry Donut mix in with it. This is all we had when the first bears came in. Since then we have used more boarmaster products. I have used their syrup and their blueberry spray. I have done a honey burn while hunting it and light bacon scented candles. We have also added real meat and bacon grease, along with about 5 gallons of cooking oil from a restaurant. Still no bears. I am having alot of crows come eat my meat though. Last night I have 60 pics on my camera in 4 days. All were crows.

I need some help. What should I do?

Here are some pics of our baiting station. What do you all think. Is there enough cover for the bears? I think that could be my problem? Our tree stands are set up 25 yards from the barrel.

Thanks!!!
Attached Thumbnails Bear Baiting Question-bear5.jpg   Bear Baiting Question-bear2.jpg   Bear Baiting Question-bear3.jpg  
Old 05-29-2012, 07:04 PM
Typical Buck