Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Dys goat hunt

Old 02-12-2008, 01:05 PM

Default Dys goat hunt

Hey guys and girls ,looking to hunt goats but can't afford a guide .So I'm going to have to hunt the lower 48 .Any advise would be great. I'll back pack in up to 20 miles if I have too.Drawing a tag looks like a long shot but what ever it takes. Maybe some one in BC would like to take me along,for some hunting in the lower 48 or some greatlakes fishing I have my own boat.Or how about labor, I install flooring for a living.Any advice chime in please.

[/align]
Old 02-12-2008, 04:19 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Dys goat hunt

I'm thinking that in goat country you might have to use a guide. I'll check on this....
Old 02-12-2008, 04:50 PM
Fork Horn

Not all places are guide required for goats. Theres states that offer goat tags and dont need a guide. Have to check into each states reg's. Example, Wyoming only has 2 goat units. And in those 2 units if your unguided you must stay out of the wilderness area's unless you have a guide. Better be checking soon as most draws are coming up soon and odds are you'll have to start building bonus points in order to draw. Unless your one of those lucky guys who draws out the first year. Ive done 2 goat hunts, be ready for some of the ruggest country North America has to offer. People say and I will second that (depending where you go exactly but mostly true), goat country starts where sheep country ends. If your in great shape and up for a challenge of the hunt and what the mountain can bring you, its an awesome and rewarding hunt. If your backpacking, Ive never thought about 1/4 pound here and 1/8 pound here, etc,on your gear on any other hunts. If theres anything you can "trim" in weight towards your gear, trim it as it all adds up in the country goats live in and you'll thank your self later.
Old 02-12-2008, 07:10 PM
Typical Buck