Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

question for all the bear hunters out there

Old 02-04-2003, 08:35 AM
ARO

Default question for all the bear hunters out there

i am new to black bear hunting, this will be my second time, this may. i have read and heard alot about scent and bear hunting. everyone says your stand setup depends on the wind, and a bear always approachs the bait from down wind, so how can you avoid being winded, when bowhunting and are close to the bait.

thanks
ARO

www.hunting-pictures.com/members/ARO/deer.html
Old 02-04-2003, 05:26 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: question for all the bear hunters out there

Set up two different baits, or two different stands at one bait site. If the wind blows in a general direction in your area, such as south east or north west, set your stands up accordingly and chose which one suits the wind direction.
ArcticBowMan's Hunting Photo's
Old 02-08-2003, 01:38 PM
Giant Nontypical

I agree with ABM.

However I have a question or experience to relate that has left me a little puzzled on this wind and bear thing. Last spring on 2 occasions I got to my stand and only to have the wind switch direction having my scent actually downwind of the bait...basically blowing to the bears. Both these evenings I was stuck in that spot and didn't have time to move or relocate(Bow hunting over bait, BTW). Figuring it would be a night of watching nothing and seeing nothing, I just sat back to enjoy the forest(Since it is a 2 1/2 hour drive one way from my home). Well in both occasion I actually saw more activity at my bait then any other times when I had the text book setup. The bears that approached downwind tended to hang back but still meadered in and hit the bait. I also observed a number that actually did not come in downwind last spring.

So my question is, was it patterning to the bait, smell is really not that important when in a treestand or just luck?