Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Best shooting sticks?

Old 10-09-2007, 05:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Best shooting sticks?

I'll be heading up to Montana hunting antelope and mule deer late next week and am thinking of some last minute things to take.

I've never used shooting sticks before but I can see that they would be helpful on the wide open prairie on antelope for sure and probably would come in handy for mule deer as well.

I looked at the Stoney Point shooting sticks that are a bi-pod and they sell for $35 but you can add a tripod leg to them for an extra $20 for a total price tag of $55.

Stoney Point Steady Stix II

Stoney Point Tripod Kit

I'm also looking at the MossBack shooting tripod that sells for $60.

MossBack Shooting Tripod

The MossBack got some mediocre reviews a few places but mainly when used in the standing position and I wouldn't probably use them in the standing position very often. The Stoney Point Steady Stix either come in a sitting or standing version and I would be buying the sitting version.

I realize you can make your own shooting sticks, but I was thinking the fold up versions would be nicer to haul around in a backpack and to take up to Montana with me.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Nathan
Old 10-09-2007, 08:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Best shooting sticks?

I'd suggest buying a good quality bi-pod that attaches to the gun such as the Harris pivoting bipod, these are awesome when you're in the wide open prairies where you can take a shot at a stationary targetwhile laying prone. Along with those, take your pick on the un-attached shooting sticks that are taller and will allow you to shoot from the sitting position. Then you'll have the sitting and prone positions covered.
Old 10-09-2007, 09:01 PM
Nontypical Buck