Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

After it's down questions...Elk

Old 07-09-2007, 03:27 PM

Default After it's down questions...Elk

Hoping someone can guide me in the right direction here.

This is my first year hunting Elk and have been able to find most of the information I am looking for...

After it's down,
Do I cut the neck and point the body downhill to drain blood? Or does standard gutting/quartering negate this?

Is there a standard way to lash the quarter to your pack?

Do I remove the head at the top of the neck or at the shoulders?

Thank you for your help/wisdom in advance.

Tim
Old 07-09-2007, 04:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: After it's down questions...Elk

gut it, no reason to drain the blood! Hind 1/4's are easy to tie onto a good pack that has a shelf for the 1/4's to sit on. We use bungee cords. The front 1/4's can be done this way too, and you'll be better off with a pack with a bag for all the loose meat. You will have 4 good loads of meat and antlers. Buy some quality game bags to put it all in at the kill sight. If there's two of you, completely 1/4 the elk and hang the two bags that you won't take with you on the first trip in a near by tree so the meat can be cooling while you're packing out the first 2 bags.
Only reason to the remove the head is if you're doing a shoulder mount. If so, cut it off as near to the skull as you can and cape accordingly, otherwise, leave the head at the kill sight and take all the neck meat off right where it lays. As far as proof of sex, the tits or testis will need to be attached to the hind 1/4's, hence, no need for the head unless you're doing a shoulder mount.
Old 07-09-2007, 04:56 PM

Thanks, appreciate it!
Old 07-09-2007, 05:11 PM

the only bones i would pack is the horns, the rest i wouldleave at kill site. i wouldn't even gut it!
Old 07-09-2007, 06:26 PM
Dominant Buck