Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

DIY Elkhunt

Old 05-23-2007, 06:42 PM
Fork Horn

Default DIY Elkhunt

It wasn't too long ago I found myself wonderin how I was gonna keep a roof over myhead. But found out today that our department is expecting a 20%+ raise in pay grades, across the board. I dont make a whole lotta dough, but running the numbers, I figured out I might be able to have enough cash together this fall or at least the fall after, for a DIY elk hunt.

Other than getting my fat butt in shape, I'm wonderin if anyone's got some good pointers or some good links with information. I know Public Land can be rough for elk, but I wouldnt mind the adventure. Especially if I can talk my dad into goin with me. We havnt gotten to hunt together much since I graduated HS 7 years ago(yeesh already?) and it would be really cool. But I want to do it DIY style. Bow or Gun, dont know which yet. Just for the heck of it.

So whatcha got? Any ideas? What state, what unit, what equipment? Dish it out. I'm a Texas Whitetail hunter, so nothing is too basic.
Old 05-23-2007, 06:58 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: DIY Elkhunt

ORIGINAL: Davoh

getting my fat butt in shape
That's pretty much the jist of it! In much ofthe mountain states public land is very steep. If you set your mind to it, it can be very rewarding.I don't know about any state other than Colorado. If you do some research you can find some fantastichunting areas on public land. I'd start by doing some research on the Colorado DNR site: http://wildlife.state.co.us/. If you narrow your search down to a specific state and or area their are plenty of guys and gals on here that will give you some in depth knowledge but you need to prove to them that you are willing to do the legwork. Good luck!
Old 05-23-2007, 07:18 PM
Nontypical Buck