Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Google Earth and Scouting

Old 05-09-2007, 10:53 AM
Fork Horn

Default Google Earth and Scouting

Has anyone out there used the Google Earth program? Its pretty slick, the wife downloaded it and I was playing with it. Its a got some pretty detailed images of some of the best elk spots in the country. Could be used for alot of different uses, but I'm using to help find new spots I want to scout this summer.

http://earth.google.com/

After I started playing with it, it allows you to turn the X-Y-Z axis's all around. Some areas we hunt seem to have low quality images, but others are pretty darn impressive. I doubt I'd recommend this if you dont have a high speed connection though.

He's a capture image of where I shot my elk last year. Let me know what you think.
">">
Old 05-09-2007, 11:00 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Google Earth and Scouting

Also took a look at the place we hunt Whitetails, pretty neat little program!

">http://

Old 05-09-2007, 06:37 PM
Fork Horn

Yes, Google Earth is the most awsome scouting tool ever. Shhh.... don't tell anyone though. I use this system almost daily.

Some people find GE frustrating, and eastern/midwesterners don't gain as much advantage from it as we do. I have met some people who just can't grasp the satellite image concept presented by GE, but hey, we're all wired differently.

GE is awsome!
Old 05-09-2007, 06:42 PM

Yah i use it all the time, be it to find new fishing/hunting spots, scouting, or just to get directions to somewhere. I love it.
Old 05-10-2007, 02:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

i agree it is awesome...don't tell anyone but you can also use flashearth.com....and look at google, yahoo or others very easily.....i really like useing it but the biggest problem i have is that they are mostly older photos and sometimes don't reflect what is currently there....

anyone have a site that is well updated?
Old 05-12-2007, 06:22 AM