Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Help me relocate perhaps?

Old 01-14-2007, 08:52 PM

Default Help me relocate perhaps?

I am a teacher, and amthinking of making a move out west so I can elk hunt and teach.
I know somethings about Elk hunting, but not a whole bunch, but would love to get into it seriously. Of course, since I will be teaching, I will need an area that is, well, easy access and most likely has a large concentration of elk.
Any suggestions ona state? I am really open to anything, except Utah.
I really like Sante Fe and Flagstaff, both are great.
Old 01-15-2007, 02:20 AM
usa
Fork Horn

Default RE: Help me relocate perhaps?

Santa Fe might be a good choice , forget Flagstaff you might not draw an elk tag in your lifetime. New Mexico is a good draw state or consider Colorado around Durango lots of elk ( not many huge bulls ) and the tag is over the counter. Montana has a great muledeer/elk combo licence, but with that being said I've often thought about moving to one of my hunting states but then it seems foolish to move to another state for a 2 week or less season.
Old 01-15-2007, 12:59 PM

I'd say your a lucky guy to be able to relo to any state you want just to elk hunt. You have Montana, New Mexico, Colorado, Arizona, and not Utah. To name a few. I guess you have to figure out how much you like cold weather, snow and what off season activities you do. There is a website out there to determine the best place for you to live. I can't remember the address. Maybe someone else will see this and help you out.
Old 01-15-2007, 01:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

I would relolcate to Colorado. Good Elk population, Mule Deer, Whitetails,Big horn, Mountain goat, Bear, did I miss any. Well good luck with your decision.
Old 01-15-2007, 03:30 PM
Typical Buck