Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

wyoming hunt question

Old 03-17-2006, 11:19 AM

Default wyoming hunt question

i was wondering im moving to wyoming this coming year and was how the hunting is , and how much governementland is to hunt their. also wondering if im a resident was my chance of getting a elk and deer tag, also is it like hard to get the deer tag or the elk tag, thanks for yalls help
Old 03-17-2006, 02:46 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: wyoming hunt question

Do a google search on "wyoming game and fish". You can get all the info your looking for from their homepage: seasons, dates, harvest rates, application deadlines.... Success, accessability, etc... varies from place to place around the state.
Old 03-17-2006, 05:27 PM

You will have to live in Wyoming a full year before you can apply or buy tags as a resident. Odds of drawing are some what better as a resident than nonresident. Close to half the state is public land.
Old 03-17-2006, 09:53 PM

as a resident to wyoming you can go down to the local conoco and buy an elk and deer tag . and last i knew wyoming was 54% public land. about 150,000 acres? do go to game and fish site and check it all out!
Old 03-19-2006, 03:47 PM

Are you an active member in the military? If you are, then you only have to reside in Wyoming for 90 days to qualify as a resident.
Otherwise it's a year ("12 months prior to applying for the license"). They will check TOO!
To answer your first question, hunting is superb in Wyoming. One of the main reasons I can't leave! Elk, Mule deer, White tail deer, Antelope (Pronghorn Sheep), Black bear, Moose, Mountain Goat, Rocky Mountain sheep, Mountain lion, migratory birds like goose & duck, pheasant, grouse, fishing for several species of native and non-native trout, walleye, cats, perch, bass, . . . my fingers are getting tired. All live and thrive here! And more public land than any other state in the lower 48.