Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Elk Scope?

Old 02-12-2006, 07:30 PM
Spike

Default Elk Scope?

I'm just getting into elk hunting and I need a good hunting scope that I can use for elk or deer hunting... I'm going to need a scope that will be able to take a beating in the field and still stay aligned with the windage that I sighted it to. My price range is going to have to be less than $100.

ANY advice is greatly appreciated!
Old 02-12-2006, 09:54 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Elk Scope?

Seeing as you got several months to go before any elk season opens I strongly suggest you get at least $200 saved up and purchase a Burris FF-II, Bushnell 3200, Nikon buckmater, etc...
Old 02-12-2006, 10:08 PM
Typical Buck

Watch the classified section on this & several other sites. You should be able to get a good used Leupold 4x or 6x for $150. You might be able to pick up a used VarX II 3x9 for the same money. i would buy a used Leupold before I would buy a cheap new scope. Cb
Old 02-13-2006, 09:48 AM

The best bargain I know of for a quality scope is the Weaver Grand Slam series. You can buy a 3-10x40mmfrom http://www.brunoshooters.com for about $250. The Grand Slam's "micro-trac" windage and elevation system is top notch.They are extremely reliable, accurate, and hold zero perfectly.The glass is high quality, and rivals Leupolds. You can also buy their "classic" model for quite a bit less but I don't have any personal experience with those models. I would be more inclined to take a chance on the weaver classic than any of the other scopes in the $100 range.
Old 02-13-2006, 09:56 AM
Giant Nontypical