Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Wyoming Preference Points

Old 01-06-2006, 10:46 AM
Fork Horn

Default Wyoming Preference Points

I'm not trying to start the great non-resident/resident hunting debate here so with that said how many of you are going to take advantage of this new system for 2006? The way I see it is that if you ever plan on hunting in WY you better get in on this or find a new state to hunt.I'm sure there are some tags available without some preference points, but I'm certain the hunting will not be great.

In 2006 the PP's are $50 for elk, $40 for deer and $30 for an antelope. I have been putting in for moose and sheep for 5 years at $7 each, this year that price has been raised to $75 for moose and $100 for sheep. I find that ludicrous, but unless I'm willing to throw away my last 5 years efforts and money I must continue to pay the high price.

I know it probably sounds like I am trying to start the great resident/non-resident debate, but I'm not. I just sent out my check to the WY game and fish for $295 that I will never see again. I feel that I must do that to be able to hunt there in the future. Anyone else doing this?

Old 01-06-2006, 11:51 AM

Default RE: Wyoming Preference Points

I just received my paperwork from a Wyoming outftter. A nonresident elk tag without the peferance point is aprox. $475 and $975 with the point. The outfitter reccomends paying the additional with the idea if I don't draw this year I will next. The tags are a little pricey don't you think?
Old 01-06-2006, 02:51 PM
Typical Buck

I'm getting ready to send in for my preference point. I hunted there in 2005 and had a great time. I want to keep my options open so I'm jumping in.
Old 01-14-2006, 08:12 AM

I sent in $30 for the antelope point. Elk I go to CO or UT and mulies to CO or MT normally
Old 01-14-2006, 11:38 AM
Nontypical Buck