Community
Airgun Hunting The Silent Killers - Discuss hunting with airguns, equipment, tactics, and everything else

I broke my Air Arms TX200 AGAIN!!!

Old 08-04-2024, 01:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default I broke my Air Arms TX200 AGAIN!!!

This information has taken close to 7 months to actually get compiled. Late last winter early this spring I started having troubles with my accuracy on my TX200, and my speed went from 668 fps down to 630 fps. But it didn't just stay at 630. It would be 630 then 650 then back down.

I found that my piston seal had a very deep crack inside of it, and at first I thought maybe that was really the biggest part of my problem. After replacing all the seals, the spring, everything. I did a full rebuild and it still shot the same.

When I started shooting Rock chucks this spring I noticed that my accuracy was all over the place and I just did not have the power to dispatch the Rock chucks like I needed. My groups were awful and I had to quit using the rifle.
I spoke with Air Venturi several times. They spoke with Air Arms several times. Basically I was told that since I worked on the rifle myself. I had voided the warranty. So if working on them voids the warranty, why do they sell parts? They honestly didn't know why the gun was behaving the way it was. But they thought I should send it in. Ya right!

After trying everything I could think of. I finally found out that my compression tube was completely worn out. The threads that go between the compression tube and the transfer port ( I think its called) were installed with a retaining compound from the factory.

The O-ring was bad and the retaining compound was also gone. The transfer port unscrewed from the compression tube with no resistance. Normally it would require heating with a torch.

The piston was also worn.